Week 38

Settings: f/13, 1/80 second, ISO 100, 30mm focal length

Set up. Experimenting with spot metering to see what effect it had on the final image. I was also very conscious of composition using the “rule of thirds” & making sure there was sufficient gap between the top of the pier posts & the lake shore beyond.

Opinion. There is a lot about this image I like. The subtle tones of the picture, the way the mountains on the distant shore become progressively lighter, the sun flare. Plus, this is almost straight from camera which is even better. If I’m being picky, the composition could be stronger (perhaps including the end of the pier or taking it from a higher vantage point to separate the yacht on the left from the pier posts) but for possibly my first attempt using this metering mode, I think it has potential.

