Week 33

Settings: Samsung Galaxy S4

Set up. Take a small square of cardboard & prick a hole in it with a pin. Hold the card up to the lens of the phone (making sure the cardboard is tight to the phone otherwise the border will be a grey colour rather than black) & take your photos.

Opinion. I’d seen this technique demonstrated in a YouTube video from Cooph entitled 8 DIY Smartphone Photography Tips & wanted to try it out. At first I tried the technique on flowers around the garden (one of which I put on Instagram) before turning my attention to my daughter’s playhouse. I like the old-fashioned “Alice in Wonderland” kind of feel it produces. This image is straight out of the phone too, no Photoshopping or other alterations have been made which makes a change. It’s nice to get back to basics sometimes.

