Week 24

Settings: Stock photo

Set up. Following a tutorial in “Photoshop Creative” issue 127

Opinion. I’ve come to realise that not only are many of the tutorials in this publication not possible on Photoshop Elements but even the ones which supposedly are or, have Element alternative procedures, are frequently not that simple to follow. I often find myself resorting to demonstrations on “You Tube” of how to obtain similar results. Fortunately I’m spoilt for choice more often than not, many with easy to understand explanations. So it was with this week’s project. However, as with previous attempts at following tutorials, a consequence of not getting it exactly right was I learnt new, cool effects.

For example, when adding the sparkles to the image I found if I added a layer with a mid to low opacity & then an additional layer with a higher degree of opacity on top, it created a more realistic effect as the sparkles appeared to now have depth. I also blurred the sparkles more on the lower layer (filter>blur>Gaussian blur) to help this effect.

The middle picture of the three shown here was the one I was initially attempting. However, I thought it looked quite good in black & white. I also discovered the image on the right by messing around with the “hue” slider while trying to boost the colours on the original picture. In the end there was nothing left for it but to create a triptych.

