Week 21

Settings: f/6.3, 1/200 second, ISO 100, 49mm

Set up. A wander around Green Lane, the old home of Stand Athletic FC.

Opinion. When I lived at my previous house, I used to drive past an unused football ground on an almost daily basis. I often thought about stopping to take some black & white images of the overgrown pitch, the crumbling stands & the rundown changing rooms. Well yesterday, I finally got around to doing just that (fortunately the further passage of time had only increased the amount of weeds & dereliction).

Goal post
Goalpost

I did a bit of research beforehand & discovered this ground is called Green Lane, the old home of Stand Athletic FC. Having moved here from Whitefield in 2000 & signing a seven year lease, they only stayed for a couple of years apparently before returning to their original home due to financial problems. From what I can gather, they were quite accomplished on the pitch if not entirely as successful off it.

Dugout
Dugout
Main stand
Main stand

I shot the pictures hand held in AV mode & had decided to make the trip on this particular day due to the cloudy sky (thinking the clouds would create more interest in the images once converted to black & white). Once back home, I adjusted the “hue/saturation” levels to give the pictures a touch of colourization before adding a little sharpening (the main photo has a couple of areas of dodge & burn too).

