Week 12

Settings: f/5.6, 1/50 second, ISO 100, 50mm prime

Set up. I poured boiling water from the kettle into a glass mixing bowl which I then covered, tightly with cling film. I placed the bowl on a piece of pink card & used an external flash (set to 1/128 power) on its side next to the bowl. The camera was on a tripod looking vertically down (I placed my hand over the camera’s flash to prevent it reflecting in the water).

Opinions. Even though the condensation droplets are facing down into the bowl, in the image they appear to be sitting on a flat surface. I had experimented with a coloured bowl, different angles of view & alternative back grounds before this shot but much prefer this end result with a simple piece of coloured card photographed from vertically above. The colour really brings the image to life.

