Week 9

Settings. f/6.3, 1/15 second, ISO 3200, focal length 43mm

Set up. Stick a bunch of musicians in a recording studio & take some photographs!

Opinion. I operated the camera in ‘manual’ mode for this shoot & struggled initially with the settings. It was quite dark in the studio & the only way I could obtain reasonably light images while operating the camera hand-held, was to increase the ISO. I tried a couple allowing the flash to fire but it produced images which were far too bright.

Post production work consisted of increasing the contrast, converting the image to black & white, a little dodge & burn then finally some selective sharpening.

The above image is slightly grainy (due to the high ISO) but I think it captures the moment well so I’m quite happy with it. After all, isn’t that what photographs are supposed to do, capture a split second in time in order to help us relive our past?

A soft focus version
A soft focus version
