Week 7

Settings: f/9, 1/160 second, ISO 100, 50mm prime

Set up. During a day out at Brockhole (on Lake Windermere) I thought I’d attempt the classic “using a pier as a leading line” shot.

Opinion. This week’s image involved very little post production editing, partly because I’d taken the original image as a jpeg (I know, I know, always shoot in RAW format) & therefore, couldn’t do a huge amount for fear of turning the final shot grainy & partly, because I didn’t think it needed it. So a little curves adjustment, a slight burning of the sky to bring out the clouds & that was it. Speaking of clouds, I thought they looked quite dramatic & so increased the contrast before creating a sepia version. What do you think?

Brockhole pier sepia

As you may have noticed, I’m still on my 50mm prime kick which some would argue isn’t the best for landscape photography. However, for most of the day I was taking snaps of the kids & didn’t want to be changing my lens all the time. Perhaps this is why the pier looks slightly out of focus when you zoom in a little? Or perhaps it was just my technique!

