Week 6

Settings: f/6.30, 1/125 second, ISO 100, 50mm prime

Set up. The witch hazel tree in my back garden is in flower this time of year & produces these unusual yellow flowers, similar in appearance to lemon zest. I happened to notice one morning that a single branch was in direct sunlight while the rest of the tree was in shade & thought it might make an interesting photo. I fitted my 50mm prime lens as I wanted to have the flowers in the background out of focus.

Opinion. While not a bad idea in principle I’m slightly disappointed with the final image. I can’t quite put my finger on why though. Perhaps it’s the composition or, perhaps it’s just not the image I had in my head when I set out. Also, due to the fact it was in direct sunlight, the particular flower I focused on was very bright & caused some clipping issues in post production. Maybe dialing back the exposure a stop would have helped avoid this problem?

