Project 52

With the Christmas holiday’s drawing to a close & 2015 increasingly near, many people’s thoughts turn towards New Year’s resolutions. I have to confess, I am not usually that type of person. Don’t get me wrong, I think goals are a good thing but if I feel I need to accomplish something I’ll start it as soon as possible. “No time like the present” as the saying goes. Why should we put it off until the beginning of a new year? Maybe because that way it’s easier to know when we started & hence, keep a record of how long we’ve been doing our new activity?

With this latter thought in mind I’ve decided to start my own “Project 52”. I’m sure you’re all aware of the “365 Project” where you have to take a photograph everyday for a year. However, as Clint Eastwood once said “A man’s got to know his limitations” & I know this isn’t a realistic challenge for me at the moment. Therefore, it doesn’t take a genius, to work out my plan. I aim to take a photo a week either trying a different  photographic style or, trying my hand at a new Photoshop technique. Hopefully the longer gap in between each picture will allow me to spend a little more time thinking about the shoot or working on the post shoot editing (in the case of creating a composite, for example,which I’d like to try my hand at).

So a happy new year to you all (for tomorrow night) & here I go!

