Textured photo effect

With Halloween approaching I thought I’d have a go at creating a zombie picture using Photoshop Elements. It’s pretty straight forward & utilises “layers” to combine the following two photographs

Cracked pavement Female face

Firstly, open the picture of the woman. I duplicated this photo & desaturated it (CTRL+SHIFT+U). Set this duplicate layer to ‘soft light’ in order to increase the contrast & give it more consistancy. Next, drag the concrete photo onto the main workspace area (we’re using this as texture) which will create another layer. Set the blend mode of the texture layer to ‘colour burn’ & reduce the opacity to give the required effect. Now use the brush tool to remove the texture from the places you don’t want it (eg. the model’s hood, the background etc.) Because the texture is all over the model’s face I thought it looked a little flat. Plus, with her face now not as clear as the sharply in focus hood, I thought the picture looked a little fake (too Photoshopped if you like). So I used the ‘eraser’ tool to carefully remove parts of the texture inbetween the cracks. I also removed this layer from her eyes & lips.

Finally, I added a ‘brightness/contrast’ layer. I took the brightness down to create a darker, more mysterious feel to the photo & increased the contrast slightly. The result is shown below.

Halloween face

(Created using Photoshop Elements 12)

 

